HuorrouH – Starlight

In the album art for Starlight, by HuorrouH, which I choose to pronounce as "hoo roo", we see an onion, an Egyptian, and a synthesizer, floating in a field of shooting stars. It's a tough code to crack, but I've got an album art Rosetta Stone handy that I excavated from a crate of used books at a garage sale. This could help me translate what's really being said here, and I totally might even try that some time.

In the album art for Starlight, by HuorrouH, we see an onion, an Egyptian, and a synthesizer, floating in a field of shooting stars. It’s a tough code to crack, but I’ve got an album art Rosetta Stone handy that I excavated from a crate of used books at a garage sale. This could help me translate what’s really being said here, and I totally might even try that some time.

Artist: HuorrouH
Title: Starlight
Label: None
Cat#: N/A
Keywords: Drum & Bass, Dubstep, Electronic, Experimental, Rock
Reviewer: Alex Spalding

How are you doing tonight? Things are going well, I hope! If they aren’t, don’t worry too much. I understand, and I’m here, to write to you to tell you about some music you could listen to. Just find a place to hide out for a few minutes, so we can kick back and relax. It could be anywhere… if you’re at work, maybe find the nearest bathroom stall… if you’re at home, walk calmly to the bathroom and lock the door behind you. If you’re doing something weird, like reading YIKIS while jogging through the woods, take some time to locate a bush or small shrub you think someone would choose to pee on inconspicuously, and just squat there for the next several minutes while pretending to squeeze one out. If necessary, grunt and make off-putting noises… you know, in case you see someone approaching you, for example. That’s just to let them know you need to be left alone for a little while.

So, are you in a bathroom yet? Okay, good! You see, we all need time to ourselves sometimes. It’s called “self-care”, and 90% of that is about acting like you’re taking a 15-25 minute shit every now and then while trying to avoid the bothersome people and situations that accumulate around you in this dog-eat-dog rat-race we call “life”. This approach is called a “life-hack”, you see. It’s like “The Matrix”. Nobody in the “real world” is even gonna notice, and if they do, they’ll simply assume you’re suffering from indigestion. Awesome, yeah? And then, well… it’s as if you’re the master of the universe. A private universe, consisting of one or several toilet units, maybe a shower / bath combination, and pastel linoleum surfaces that can become oddly compelling given the right amount of boredom. It is in this world that we can be gods, devils, and everything in between, taking center stage to perform magnificent wonders, like feigning bowel movements while no one’s the wiser.

This time, however, I will accompany you on your journey to this brave new world of the imagination. My purpose? To tell you about some music I’m listening to, while you listen to it, and read what I’m writing about it… and, to share this special porcelain moment with you on a deep and meaningful level.

Getting right to it, then, we’ve got a really great album to explore! It’s by an artist you may be familiar with named HuorrouH, which I choose to pronounce “hoo roo”. It’s some seriously magical stuff! And, I think you’re really gonna love it.

For a good time, call up ‘My Friend’, the first track on this short album. It starts off sounding like a rumbling noise bass and then a dense groove breaks through, while short stabs of melodic synth fills in. The melodic components get increasingly more intensely programmed, like they’re jumping around in the mix, a box of shooting stars! It’s a cool little piece of music.

‘Inside’ the restroom stall, we hear the music continue, only after a pause as if to tell us we’re on the next track. Hard not to dance to these tunes, even with your pants around your ankles. Be careful not to fall. The density impact drum grooves continue, while the melodies spin around my head! I love the sound of these cosmic pads! The arpeggio kicks on and then we get some nice synth slide flourishes in the mix. This is fun music, the minimal joy of synth and drum greatly appreciated. It’s the small pleasures of life.

The titular ‘Starlight’ is amazing and shiny! The synths seem to glow golden, while textured distortion harmonies swell underneath like corroded rhythms. There’s a playful break within which synth piano harmonies play, and the rhythms return. One of the things I feel about this music, which is a strange feeling, is that I feel this music is of a kindred kind of spirit to my own music from a period of life, and it makes me reminisce and also look forward to hearing much more from this artist, to see how things unfold.

Much like our asses after sitting here for awhile, this track is ‘Numb’, and it begins with some awesome noise-drums, strings, and synth rumblings that make me feel like I’ve just entered a SEGA Genesis. Then, this rad breakbeat comes in, shaking everything up! This might be my fave track on the album so far.

The last thing on this album is ‘Princess Of Egypt’. I also tend to capitalize every word in a track title, including ‘Of’, ‘And’, and ‘The’, a bizarre habit I am pretty sure I picked up from my days as a submitter for Discogs. So, any time I see someone else doing it I automatically assume they’re ‘oggers, too. Eastern strings sweep us off the toilet and into outer space, where we board saucers and soar toward the suns of distant galaxies. The lo-fi and obscure organ string samples are a cool touch! It goes straight into some bass wasp drones and electro grooves.

Wow! This was some great music! I’m glad we had this moment. I suppose we’re done here, for the time being, so I’ll flush this clickable link down to the bottom of the review. Just make sure to wash your hands before you touch it, to prevent the spread of diseases.

http://huorrouh.bandcamp.com/album/starlight

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

