Step Further Away – (Pre)sense (NJMP3-0375)

The album art for (Pre)sense, by Step Further Away, evokes for me a sense of isolationism, non-existence in a kind of pastoral bliss surrounded by still nature... the white sky and the shadow of the house in the distance creates a strange foreboding. It is as if the world is at rest.

The album art for (Pre)sense, by Step Further Away, evokes for me a sense of isolationism, or even non-existence, in a kind of pastoral bliss surrounded by still nature… it is like death. The white sky and the shadow of the house in the distance creates a strange foreboding, like something out of reach. It is as if the world is completely at rest.

Artist: Step Further Away
Title: (Pre)sense
Label: Noise-Joy
Cat#: NJMP3-0375
Keywords: Noise, Ambient
Reviewer: Alex Spalding

There was a prolific artist, Krister Bergman, who had a project called Demons That Drove that I personally felt, both in terms of sound and overall concept, was some of the highest quality and intense noise music I’d ever put out on my net label Noise-Joy. I’ve still got all of this artist’s work, and am looking forward to archiving it again. At one point, Krister began to send me music from an ambient side-project of theirs for release, which was called Step Further Away. This was also of unbelievable quality. So, I felt I’d start here.

This was the second of two SFA albums, and it consists of two tracks, each over an hour in length: ‘View From The Wound’ and ‘Fire Through Hands That Break’. I’m very attached to these pieces of music and have been since I first heard them, in 2007. I find it difficult to write about them for this reason. That happens sometimes.

They are like stillness put to sound, a separation between our self and the outside world, and a broken, quiet wind bearing with it an abstract harmonic character that insists on reflection, occasionally dark and occasionally bright. Sounds, many of which can be harsh, collapse in on themselves here, becoming surface ripples on water. The pieces are like meditations on the aftershocks.

Anyway… I hope you will enjoy this. I consider it a must-have album for anyone who loves ambient / dark ambient music.

https://archive.org/details/StepFurtherAway-presensenjmp3-0375

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

