Peter Percept – Noise Bleeding

Here is one of the images sent to me with the album Noise Bleeding, by Peter Percept. I was gonna make a bunch of puns about it, but I didn't have the heart. Ha, got you. Got you with a pun. Stupid puns. Anyway, the other two associated images will also be featured in the review, they're pretty cool.

Here is one of the images sent to me with the album Noise Bleeding, by Peter Percept. I was gonna make a bunch of puns about it, but I didn’t have the heart. Ha, got you. Got you with a pun. Stupid puns. Anyway, the other two associated images will also be featured in the review, they’re pretty cool.

Artist: Peter Percept
Title: Noise Bleeding
Label: Noise-Joy
Cat#: NJMP3-0334
Keywords: Illbient, Abstract, Future Jazz, Post Rock, Krautrock, Experimental
Reviewer: Alex Spalding

Hello, and welcome to another review, by me.

Is there a rule of writing that you can’t begin important published documents that way? “Hello, and welcome to my thesis paper, written by me.”

That’s how I’d start a thesis.

Anyway, I’m getting side-tracked. I wanted to write a review for Peter Percept, who puts out a lot of really intriguing music that I love! This was the first thing I’d ever heard of his, sent to Noise-Joy basically forever ago, but reissued now for the first time in 8 years. Wow!

So, the first track here is ‘Abstract Wedding’. Clicking, clicking, then some really nice bell moods, a groove comes in, fluty puffs… it’s really strange, the harmonies, jazzy and obscure feelings. I feel like I’m on an alien world, surrounded by gel creatures, handing them toothbrushes and other things from a pack, which they’re analyzing with curiosity. This music is brilliant!

Then, it’s time for ‘Moo Center’! There’s a slow motion drum groove at the start, and we’re exploring alien jungles full of weird ass frogs. ‘Moo Center’ is super rhythmic and bizarre, our machetes can barely cut through these layers. Spaceships are singing from somewhere within…

Peter Percept - Noise Bleeding 2

… after this is ‘Internet Will Become Spiritual’, which features a low rhythmic groove. Low bass string tones rumble, a sudden distorted drum, more bells, ever escalating drum shuffles introduced… I feel like the aliens are showing me a computer system they built, and I’m trying to figure out how much RAM it has, but there’s no way to tell, it’s like they don’t even need things like RAM, or memory for that matter. So it’s like, what the hell are they doing with this stuff? There are some horns now, in the mix, lots of snares. Maybe they’re storing data in their bodies somewhere.

The next track is ‘Life As A Rotten Karaoke’. There are a lot of strange alien synth voices on this, it’s like they’re having a conversation about dancing and parties. Which would be cool. I’d like to see what a party would look like on an alien planet. There are some really fantastic percussion elements fluttering around like butterflies on this track! Beeps, and the whir of sampled sound, and bells, and Mercurial rhythms that seem to change every time you try to stare at them.

On ‘Dust To Dust’ we hear a drum groove, a voice muttering, strange strings phasing a bit. This one’s wonderful! Are we sleeping in an alien camp, now? Do these aliens eat food? I hope so, I’m getting hungry.

Peter Percept - Noise Bleeding 3

After that is ‘My Drug Dealer Is A Koala’! There are guitar-ish string tones bouncing a bit within, more multiplying grooves. It’s morning and we’re surfing an alien tide, and the aliens are grilling us strange onions they’ve pulled up from the shoreline. The food smells awesome. It’s also a pretty nice day outside, considering this is a planet I’m completely unfamiliar with, so I have nothing to base that assumption on.

And, last, is ‘Grand Guignol’. This was an early fave of mine from this album… I liked the way it felt like peculiar midi instrumentation being bent, as if plastic, into an abstract piece of electronic dance music with a glitch / IDM vibe. Things are getting a bit dark in the mix, and I think it’s time to leave the alien planet behind and travel elsewhere, before we wear out our welcome. Maybe it’s too late, and all these sounds are like, biolaser weapons being fired at us as we flee back through the jungles to our rocketship. Yikes! I love the mood of this music, the frenetic, rhythmic, abstract jazziness of it, and the way it moves constantly. It ends with something sort of like a melodic computer malfunction.

Very fantastic musical work, and one of my fave submissions of all time from back in the Noise-Joy days. 🙂 Definitely check it out!

https://archive.org/details/PeterPercept-NoiseBleedingnjmp3-0334

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

