Super Speed Reviews! – Various Artists

Hello one and all. Due to time constraints, lack of will, and a penchant for all things suck, sometimes things get left to collect dust. Whether it be a message on our book of faces, or a handy dandy request via the page here, there are only so much of us to suck and so much to suck out of your lovely submissions. We love you anyway. Well, ok some of you. I can’t claim to feel or be the end all be all of suck, since it’s all of us.

That being said, I shall be doing a quickfire batch review for those we probably missed, may have missed, not gotten around to yet, and know that I put just as much love and effort into this as any other review I do.

So without further ado, buckle your seat belts, hide away all your precious goodies because we’re about to go for one hell of a fuckin’ ride:

cropped-sucks

a3575877522_16

artist: Fannyland
title: The Adventures of Mr. Potoilethead
tags: black metal experimental artrock doom metal experimental rock psychedelic rock Los Angeles

6 rock fueled tracks. It’s featuring a partially modular toilet toy based off of a popular product of similar name and appearance. Well, maybe what might show up inside said toilet. There is arboreal amorous relations due to an apparent lack of intelligence, a song about being the size of a nut, a girl that has something to do with a particular cut of pig, a fictional skyscraper cleverly titled about bloodsuckers, your typical day about dad’s, and nightmares about painted dude. Sounds fun and whimsical, especially for a combined listen time of about 15 seconds. Give it your 15 seconds and more at:

https://harrycloud.bandcamp.com/album/the-adventures-of-mr-potoilethead

a1236340671_10

title: Circular Logic
artist: RJ Thyme
tags: edm electronic experimental idm bass chill step electronica experimental bass experimental electronic freestyle storytelling United States

Next up, hot off the fourteen year old griddle is Circular Logic. Beeps. Boops. Ambient sounds. Blippities, bloopities. Drums and what some people call IDM goodness. Samples. So ok I get it. The titles all bleed into each other so you eventually get the solution of Body is Dead, which I guess one could argue would be a good secondary or alternative title for this album, cuz that sums up the whole journey. But I posit this, if the body is dead how the fuck did this album get made?1?!?! I’m here to ask the tough questions folks, but to get your own answers go here:

https://rjthyme.bandcamp.com/album/circular-logic

a1069956460_16

title: Three Songs For Ending Titles
artist: Mad Waves
tags: experimental leo torres lo-fi monterrey noise rock radiobasura Monterrey

A song for me? My title is ending? NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO.
Colision? I HIT SOMETHING?
A song for me again? I ALREADY ENDED!

It starts all folky then gets kinda ambient and dissociative and then combines the two a bit for the reprise. I could see these being ends of movies which I assume was the point? Not really sure, but that’s my perspective. I thought it was cool.

https://radiobasura.bandcamp.com/album/three-songs-for-ending-titles

a4129785579_16

artist: Vitamin Wig C
title: In Your Shower | 2005
tags: bossa nova in your shower vitamin wig c world esoteric experimental pop Los Angeles

What starts with V, ends with itamin, and rhymes with vitamin? Well, vitamin of course. Bounces all over the place, got some weird minimal type tracks, then some cooler boss tunes, and then some like vocal filled tracks. It’s got all the essentials. I think. What does essential mean again? The eponymous track is all sorts of moaned lyrics and some faded out tunage. Woo. Flutes? Nuts.

https://vitaminwigc.bandcamp.com/album/in-your-shower-2005

a3501331662_10

title: Andy Cigarettes “Z”
artist: Andy Cigarettes
tags: experimental kansas city portland rock Missouri

They’re experimenting with rock! There are some pretty quirky and fun tracks here. Where is pretty fun. It’s got some punkish vibes and apparently this person went on tour not too long ago, Yay., Yeah this one is purty fun. It’s got the right buttons to the right devices for ya know good times and such.

https://powderedheartsrecords.bandcamp.com/album/andy-cigarettes-z

a0046364591_16

title: Douhesi
artists: Seicho Suru kigi and Dzik
tags: electronic experimental noise United Kingdom

I have not seen such clever titles for songs in quite some time. Track I: The Beginning, is, the beginning. No shockers there. No shockers then that it comes in all soft with like some sort of potentially horned up seal or maybe it’s some metal shit going on in the background idk. And some water stuffs, and maybe drunken strumming. Middle is all percussive. The end, because I’m going to be a dick here, is silence BECAUSE THE MUSIC IS OVER.

https://philmill.bandcamp.com/album/douhesi

a2175989567_16

title: Repetition
artist: Steven Wright
tags: alternative brisbane diy electronic hobart punk lo-fi record label Brisbane

Before I get into my super speedy listen over here HOYL CRIPPYUOLA you can buy it on vinyl! (I don’t own a record player so this would be a super impractical purchase for me but hey). Well I’m not going to spoil it but all I will tell you is that it makes me make dramatic faces and even more dramatic pelvic gyrations.

https://virtualcool.bandcamp.com/album/repetition

a1273433800_10

artist: Dawktah
title: Inpatient Access
tags: experimental chill dance electronic glitch hip hop plunderphonics pop vaporwave Lindenhurst

The more and more I get into the super speed s-dimension (i couldn’t think of a fucking synonym for dimension that wasn’t space BECAUSE SPACE IS TOO EASY AND THE ONLY THING EASY IN LIFE ARE EGGS), the more and more my original review self is starting to peek out, the uninhibited asshole that takes jabs at anything and everything for the sake of whatever. Ok, maybe just blunt. We’ll go for that for now.

That being said, this artwork looks pretty familiar, I’m pretty sure I loaded this up to review it and then said, eh whatever.

Oh. Dawktah. He’s from New York. Ahhhhhh.

At first I thought, hm are these just drum beats layered over instrumental sections from over tracks? I couldn’t quite be sure until track 7. Hola, me llamo ‘Liquid Spear Waltz’ de Michael Andrews with a drum beat that I don’t think quite works. I love the original though and phased out the additions. Some ok ideas though. Sample manipulation is cool. Sometimes. Maybe there are originals in here. Not sure. Eh, yeah I’ve turned the douche switch on. Sorry viewers!

https://dawktah.bandcamp.com/album/inpatient-access

a3856468771_10

artist: Schmaidl
title: A View
tags: experimental avant-garde drone field recording musique concrete noise sound art synth United Kingdom

Now, I normally refrain from calling any album deep or anything else due to the pure subjectivity there is with music and the reactions vary so much from person to person. So, really, what people have commented on this album on the camp of band really goes against my whole ethos. Maybe there is an unwritten imo in there or it is assumed that I am to think that but saying it outright stirs up feelings of what makes us human? I don’t know about all that but I’m just a simpleton.

Sounds like they’re trying to be Boards of Canada. But like a political Boards of Canada. Maybe I missed the whole point of BoC. Maybe I’m talking out of my ass like Ace Ventura. Who knows at this point?

https://tcfsr.bandcamp.com/album/a-view

a4041016835_16

artist: Mental Escape Pod
title: finding new waves

Just when you thought you couldn’t possible have another hour of drone/ambient in your collection!
Ok don’t get me wrong, some ambient is ok, but I can’t tell you how many hour+ releases we get of stuff similar to this. Cool, I guess. AND SOME PEOPLE MAKE THEM AT LEAST ONCE A MONTH. D: D: D: D: D: D: D: D:

https://wetlandsproductions.bandcamp.com/album/finding-new-waves

title: RITE
artist: The You and What Army Faction
tags: experimental nowave post punk noise rock post-punk Αθήνα

Ok, their band name is pretty cool. Got a chuckle out of me. What is this post punk though? I haz not herdz this new fangled genre the cool kids and their young type folk have been a puttin to the mind thoughts.

Alright, it was better than I expected. Probably not gonna listen past this super speed time reviewin but yeah not bad. For the life of me though, this don’t sound all dat gloomy but hey I ain’t the one comin up with tags. Also, I don’t have a very good connection to certain emotions and go overboard in a lot of ways so maybe to regular mortals it is. To each their own. (But Caffeinate you just went off on people superimposing their beliefs and opinions as absolute! YOU HYPOCRITE!!!) Yeah ok you got me there, sorry that’s just me take on it yo.

https://theyouandwhatarmyfaction.bandcamp.com/album/rite

a1335631829_16

artist: Ray Kosmische
title: (Pissing on an) ice cubee/ Dragon Sword
tags: ambient crane house records psychedelic soundscape acid folk Nottingham

I don’t even need to get to the second track to know that this is a solid two track release.
To reference a past life, I give it 5 crabs out of a possible 2 and no they don’t properly convert into percentages so take your statistics and shove it.

https://raykosmische.bandcamp.com/album/pissing-on-an-ice-cube-dragon-sword

Well, that does it for this edition. Ok, maybe this was more of an airing of grievances (It’s not even Festivus, Caffeinate! (How can you support and partake in some mass media mind sheep produced fictional popular thing you are so much a part of the system you heathen!)) I was talking to myself there, pretending to be some form of person that would say that but hey you know what, not everything is good, humans have limits, and if you don’t like what I said I have some solace for you because well if you didn’t want an opinion on it why did you send it in? ((o.o)) ((o.o)) furthermore opinions suck! facts suck! I know opinions suck. You know I know opinions suck, I know that you know that I know, we know we all know. And yeah, we all know it sucks!

<Caffeinate>

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment