Gifgrond #82 party report!!

Gifgrond flyer by Kai Nobuko

A week ago, on a very nice Saturday evening, there was the feast of all happenings: the 82th episode of Gifgrond! It was as exciting as it could be with the nicest and sweetest musicians, who would delight your ears with dedication and personal attitude. Of course I had to come, but as a true reporter with integrity and honesty, I went in under cover. Disquised as a regular fly, I flew into Gifgrond, hid and observed from within the shadows and was deeply pleased.

Before it all started I checked into the back area to see that the artists had been lovingly catered by the cooking arts of Marcelle and Hans. I flew into the pan with the few leftovers and truly enjoyed what they had made. This healthy meal made me flap the wings of my disguise even harder. Luckily, the doors opened shortly and my enthusiastic movements were nicely camouflaged by the fair number of Gifgrond visitors. With my buzzing eyes, I even saw Stakattak among the audience! They had been playing their asses off at the murfmurw zine presentation (I flew by earlier!) and now clearly came to the right place to celebrate the existence of the rest of the day! 

From the moment that the doors opened, A. Certo was deejaying a nice collection of music, enough for people to settle into their new environment. I personally took the time to fly happily into some bottles opened by Gerrie and enjoyed the sight of them being carried back by Paul when they had been emptied. Such a smooth operation this Gifrond! But then it was the supreme moment! Time for the first live performance that this Gifgrond had to offer!

A. Certo (Photo by: Frank Janssens)

It couldnt have had a better opening than the very beautiful and bewildering performance by Francesco Giudici. This artist didn’t just give our hearing capacities a dreamworld to float on, Giudici also brought us wonderful visuals realized by video artist Aline d’Auria of the beautiful Wolf in all its strength and glory. Personally, I have a total weakspot for wolves and foxes, so behind my disguise as a fly on the wall, many sentimental tears dropped down onto the floor. Seeing something so magnificent as the wolf beaming on the Gifgrond wall along with the majestic soundscapes that Francesco Giudici provided was a thing that went through everyone’s hearts and bones. With a guitar in hand, the artist became a magician, opening this episode of Gifgrond in a mesmerizing way. Dreaming and floating, through dark shadowways and soft fur paths of the raw Wolf, Francesco Giudici made me feel like there was more to this all than it being a party, it made me feel connected and gaining even further respect for the Wolf.

Francesco Giudici (photo by: Frank Janssens)

Then the moment of strict beats came. It was the time for the tightest drummer in this universe, known as Sheik Anorak, to bang and play in a way that even Thor the thundergod might fall from his wagon! My wings from my fly-disguise started to tremble from excitement! What a structured sound and groove this Sheik had for us! It came along with a nifty wickedness of melodic rhythmic guidance & a deep sound that would make any whoopy cushion jealous. Sheik Anorak was in deep control of that Gifgrond space by grooving out while at the same time inserting malicious stops to keep everyone alert and on their wobbly toes! Sheik Anorak knows how to count and that you can count on! Even though this was a superb drummer in all its full glory, if they had billed Sheik Anorak as a mathematical marvel it would also have been believed. The tightness of this drummer was intertwined with fun, which certainly empowered and delighted anyone in its orb. My disguise as a fly almost became a fatal choice when someone started to dance almost upon my head, but as you may have noticed: I have survived and enjoyed every second of this powerful set!

Sheik Anorak (photo by: Frank Janssens)

You might think that after such a secure bashing of rhythm, things couldn’t possibly get any better, but then you might have not calculated the ingenius music of Mondkobold before. Mondkobold was next , led by two atmospheric candles on the table. The artist clearly had the power and the knowledge to channel sounds from all kinds of places. With ease, Mondkobold showcased a whole arsenal of musical knowledge, all that somehow came wonderfully mashed in a unique brew of uniqueness. All this was beautifully brought out in a togetherness that took me and all fellow Gifgrond visitors from one interesting scenario to the next. For example: One moment I felt like I was flying away with playfulness on a magic carpet after rubbing an oil lamp, and a few minutes later I felt like dancing on a railroad track chased by a high speed train who was kind enough to provide the beat! At other times, I felt like being transported to a field with fairytale friends in some fantasy-fueled techno fest and then, a few minutes later, I was happily being mesmerized by intoxicating melodies. But whatever Mondkobold had brought out, it always came with a beat! People cheered, spontaneously burst into silly dances and the atmosphere was catapulted into greater than great!! I was happy to be a fly on the wall as otherwise i would clearly be mashed on the floor by the happy dancing feet all around. It was very exciting and I felt quite a buzz!

Mondkobold (photo by: Frank Janssens)

I didnt want anything to end, but luckily there was A. Certo to deejay in between and after all these amazing live sets, taking the night away in a cloud of goodness that nobody of the attendees would ever forget! Burned like a tattoo from the inside, Gifgrond 82 was yet again a huge success! I flew around and noticed that on the 7th of October there will be another Gifgrond! So trust this fly and keep a spot clear for it in your agenda! 
www.gifgrond.nl
KN

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment