Wound – Clinomania

Artist: Wound
Title: Clinomania
Keywords: experimental ambient drone glitch illbient noise piano shoegaze Poland

This release made me feel a bit odd, a little crazy perhaps. Not that the music was insane, it probably had more to do with me being not all there. Or maybe my reactions to the music are super normal & all these fantasies and dreams as created by the music are a common thing among its listeners. In any case it had a strange effect on me, one of strange situations and confidence in the oddest ways. Let me tell you my personal take on the tracks that make this album:

“In everything” made me think of standing on a waterskies while being dragged on full speed by a speed boat. I wouldn’t be able to stand up straight, but somehow this soundtrack makes me believe I could do it. It delivers this message of holding on to the thing tightly without falling over. It’s not difficult to imagine the water waves splashing around on my toes and left over water drops flying into my face; so refreshing to imagine yourself as a professional water skier!

‘4AM Ad infinitum’ brings a completely different fantasy to the light, one that made me dream of being stranded on some kind of tropical abandoned island, with mysterious caves, long pretty beaches and deep jungles to explore. It’s not very appealing to be stranded on a island in real life, survival might simply be a bit tricky, but thanks to the music here I yet again feel like I could do it! Water skiing abilities, confident Robinson Crusoe skills… this release seem to bring them out to the best of their fantastic abilities. It might not be real life, but who cares?

‘What If’ is good for another fantasy, projecting a picture in my head of being out in the field driving a special device that either plants seeds or harvests weeds. The smell of the country side tinkles my nose hairs, the technology hums it’s presence as it serves as my temporary seat. I do not know anything about farming or working the land with technology, but in the fantasy that this music planted in my brain, I seem to know all about it. Don’t you worry field, I’ll take care of you!

More images and fantasies are being brought in when I heard “I don’t want to go”. In real life I’m afraid of heights, but thanks to the music this is also temporarily conquered. Here it transformed me into a tinkerbell look-alike, flapping around my tiny angel dust wings to fly carefree through a green magical forest landscape.

Strangely this fantasy stays when ‘Rise with me forever across the silent sand’ does it’s thing, only this time I seem to realize that I have this sensible fear of flying, that the surface underneath might be a bit too hard in case my tiny wings fall off or I forget how to make them flap in order to fly. Here my confidence (as given to me by the other tracks) seem to have disappeared to make way for self doubt that also haunts people in real life.

The next one ‘keep it in’ had a strange effect on me; it brought me into a room of a cool temperature, stacked with lots and lots of beer cans ready to be popped open for a never ending amount of refreshing beverages. Of course nobody could drink so much in real life, nor does such an unlimited room of beer cans to empty will allow alcohol worshippers inside, but that’s why these fantasies generated by the music is so fantastic. I popped them open, throw the content down into my liver and repeated the whole process over and over again. It’s a strange fantasy, but I’ll take it!

‘Light gets in’ is the last open door to a fantasy, one that made me think of being incredibly small, microscopical even.. floating calmly through electricity wires, walls, floors and electric devices. It’s all so weird what these tracks on this release do in my mind. I followed the wires and found the truthful holiness, who gave out its blessings. Normally in real life I would be too big to travel through wires and would probably not be blessed by a higher being, but thanks to the fantasies generated here; everything seems to be possible!
https://wounds.bandcamp.com
<KN>

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment